Subscribe to our free e-newsletter
Free WiFi Free Wireless Internet at GSP!
eNewsletter Subscribe
  • GSP International Airport
  • |
  • 2000 GSP Dr Ste 1
  • |
  • Greer SC 29651
  • |
  • Customer Service: 864.877.7426
  • |
  • Airport District Administration: 864.848.6254
  • FAQ's
  • |
  • Contact Us

Airport Commission

An agenda will be posted 24 hours prior to the regular scheduled Airport Commission Meetings.

The Greenville-Spartanburg Airport Commission is the governance body of the Greenville-Spartanburg Airport District which owns and operates the Greenville-Spartanburg International Airport.

The Commission is composed of six members who are appointed by the Governor as follows: (1) three of the members shall be residents of Spartanburg County and shall be appointed upon the recommendation of a majority of the members of the Spartanburg County Legislative Delegation; (2) Three of the members shall be residents of Greenville County and shall be appointed upon the recommendation of a majority of the members of the Greenville County Legislative Delegation.Members of the Commission shall serve for a term of six years.   Any new member shall be a suitable person who is a resident of the same county as the member he is to succeed. 


Greenville County Commissioners 

Minor Shaw.JPG

Minor Shaw, Chairperson

Minor Mickel Shaw is the President of Micco, LLC. She serves on the board of directors of Blue Cross Blue Shield of SC, Piedmont Natural Gas and the Columbia Mutual Fund group. She is Chairman of The Duke Endowment and is a trustee of the Hollingsworth Funds and The Daniel – Mickel Foundation and serves as a board member of other foundations and organizations. She is a graduate of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.


Leland Burch.jpg

Leland Burch

Leland E. Burch is a lifelong resident of Greer and a graduate of Wofford College with a Bachelors degree in political science. Burch was a career journalist who served as editor of The Greer Citizen newspaper for 20 years. Since retiring, Burch has published two books of his "Off the Record" newspaper columns. He has served on the Greenville-Spartanburg International Airport Commission since 1985.


Valerie Miller.JPG

Valerie Miller

Valerie J.S. Miller is a graduate of the University of Oklahoma. Miller and family owned and operated three Budget-Rent-A-Car offices in Memphis, Tennessee. She is currently a real estate executive at The Marchant Company.


Spartanburg County Commissioners


Hank Ramella.JPG

Hank Ramella, Vice Chairperson

Henry A. Ramella, a Coast Guard Veteran, pilot and avid golfer transplanted his family and businesses from New York to Spartanburg in 1972. He was the 1991 Spartanburg Small-Business Person of the Year. Ramella has been a GSP Commissioner since August, 1981.


Bill Barnet.JPG

Bill Barnet

William Barnet, III is a graduate of Dartmouth College. He joined William Barnet & Son, Inc, a family company, in 1968, and was elected President and CEO in 1976. Barnet sold the company to a management team in April 2001. Barnet served as the Mayor of Spartanburg, SC from 2002-2010 and is currently a Duke Endowment Trustee and Director of the Duke Energy Board. Barnet was elected to the GSP Commission in February 2011.



Doug Smith

Doug Smith is a graduate of Wofford College. He was elected to the SC House of Representatives from 1992-2008 and was the SPeaker Pro Tempore of the House of Representatives from 2000-2008. Currently, Smith serves as Partner at Johnson, Smith, Hibbard & Wildman Law Firm, LLP. Smith was elected to the GSP Commission in February 2011.


The Greenville-Spartanburg Airport Commission has scheduled regular Airport Commission Meetings to be held at the Airport Commission Administrative Offices located at the Greenville-Spartanburg International Airport on the following dates at 9:00 am for Calendar Year 2016:

January 11, 2016

March 28, 2016

May 9, 2016

July 11, 2016

September 19, 2016

November 21, 2016


Minutes and Agendas

Minutes Agendas